The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   CO Quiz (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/25010-co-quiz.html)

WestMichBlue Thu Feb 16, 2006 02:21pm

Rainy day test, no book, provide your instant, simulated on-the-field response. NFHS or ASA (FP)

R1 on 3B, no outs, 1-1 count on B2.

R1 breaks for home on the pitch, catcher's glove is hit by B2. Result is a weak ground ball to F1. No play at the plate so F1 takes the easy out at 1B.

What is your call, and what are the possible outcomes of this play?


WMB

DaveASA/FED Thu Feb 16, 2006 02:48pm

I am assumming you are talking about hitting the glove with the bat. If so you have a delayed dead ball call, once runner is put out at first you have the coaches option.
Options are:
1)Take the play, depends on if R1 crosses home prior to the out at 1st if run would score or not and BR out.
2) Take CO and put R1 back on 3rd and B2 at 1st.

Is there something I missed?

wadeintothem Thu Feb 16, 2006 02:54pm

I think you missed that the Runner was attempting to advance.. i.e...

I believe since she left on pitch .. the coach can take result.. or enforce CO, which the coach surely would.. which would be Runner gets home AND BR gets first.

Ed Maeder Thu Feb 16, 2006 03:26pm

If runner from third is coming home on a steal or squeeze play the ball is dead when the obstruction occurs and batter is awarded 1st and runner is awarded home no option.

[Edited by Ed Maeder on Feb 16th, 2006 at 03:55 PM]

MNBlue Thu Feb 16, 2006 03:57pm

I agree with DaveASA/FED, with the exception of scoring the run. With nobody out, in this situation, the run would count even if the coach chooses to accept the results of the play.

Had their been two outs, the run still wouldn't count, since the DDB was called before the runner had advanced (presumably) to home. So the coach would only accept the penalty option of awarding B2 first and putting R1 back on third.

wadeintothem Thu Feb 16, 2006 04:16pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Ed Maeder
If runner from third is coming home on a steal or squeeze play the ball is dead when the obstruction occurs and batter is awarded 1st and runner is awarded home no option.

[Edited by Ed Maeder on Feb 16th, 2006 at 03:55 PM]

man would suck if the player had hit a homerun despite the Obs.

dont believe you are correct on the immediate dead ball due to steal/squeeze.

Ed Maeder Thu Feb 16, 2006 04:25pm

I don't write the rules I just enforce them.

wadeintothem Thu Feb 16, 2006 04:38pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Ed Maeder
I don't write the rules I just enforce them.
In the scenario the ball was hit..
its DDB.. what rule makes it dead on a hit?


Ed Maeder Thu Feb 16, 2006 04:49pm

ASA 8-1-D-4b NFHS 8-1-1e pen

wadeintothem Thu Feb 16, 2006 05:06pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Ed Maeder
ASA 8-1-D-4b NFHS 8-1-1e pen
I knew you were gonna say that.. you are not understanding the difference between a swing/attempted bunt and a hit when applying the rules .. or the decided disadvantage you place the offense in applying the rules in the manner you are IMO... because of the hit its DDB .. had the batter swung at the pitch or attempted to bunt, it would be immediate dead ball (as opposed to letting some wild play ensue after an OBS when the ump knows the result, so the play is simply killed.. whereas with the hit you would offord the opportunity to the offense to get a better result.)

Ed Maeder Thu Feb 16, 2006 05:21pm

Didn't the batter swing at the pitch to hit the ball? Your comment was "had the batter swung at the pitch or attempted to bunt, it would be an immediate dead ball." Well they have to swing to hit the ball.

IRISHMAFIA Thu Feb 16, 2006 05:44pm

Quote:

Originally posted by wadeintothem
Quote:

Originally posted by Ed Maeder
ASA 8-1-D-4b NFHS 8-1-1e pen
I knew you were gonna say that.. you are not understanding the difference between a swing/attempted bunt and a hit when applying the rules .. or the decided disadvantage you place the offense in applying the rules in the manner you are IMO... because of the hit its DDB .. had the batter swung at the pitch or attempted to bunt, it would be immediate dead ball (as opposed to letting some wild play ensue after an OBS when the ump knows the result, so the play is simply killed.. whereas with the hit you would offord the opportunity to the offense to get a better result.)

Speaking ASA

Ed is correct. The rule allows for three different occurences:

1. prevents the batter from hitting the ball (no)
2. touch the batter (no) OR
3. their bat. (yes)

The rule applies if any of the three occur.

wadeintothem Thu Feb 16, 2006 05:53pm

Quote:

Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
Quote:

Originally posted by wadeintothem
Quote:

Originally posted by Ed Maeder
ASA 8-1-D-4b NFHS 8-1-1e pen
I knew you were gonna say that.. you are not understanding the difference between a swing/attempted bunt and a hit when applying the rules .. or the decided disadvantage you place the offense in applying the rules in the manner you are IMO... because of the hit its DDB .. had the batter swung at the pitch or attempted to bunt, it would be immediate dead ball (as opposed to letting some wild play ensue after an OBS when the ump knows the result, so the play is simply killed.. whereas with the hit you would offord the opportunity to the offense to get a better result.)

Speaking ASA

Ed is correct. The rule allows for three different occurences:

1. prevents the batter from hitting the ball (no)
2. touch the batter (no) OR
3. their bat. (yes)

The rule applies if any of the three occur.

So bases loaded, CO, ball hit to fence with runners going..a obvious double with 2 maybe 3 runners scoring..instead because of CO you call immediate dead ball and do 1 base?

Sorry I dont agree and at this point i dont see where case plays support this opinion...

Willing to learn here, but this is killing a play in a DDB situation shifting it in favor of the defense.

Why not tell your catcher if a HR hitter is up.. on the squeeze obstruct the batter?

Or.. if the hitter hits the ball hard on the squeeze dance around like the batter hit your glove, you might draw the call.

wadeintothem Thu Feb 16, 2006 05:56pm

am i also to understand.. that the squeeze rule does not apply in the manner you are applying it on a successful bunt? After all.. the rule says attempted bunt...not succesful bunt..

IMO you are proferrring an opinion on a rule that would put a catcher in position to argue FOR CO in certain situations.

Image a catcher saying "she hit my glove owie owie owie" just to draw that?

[Edited by wadeintothem on Feb 16th, 2006 at 06:00 PM]

wadeintothem Thu Feb 16, 2006 06:19pm

NFHS Case Play 8.1.1 P48 2006.. the closest I can find, but applies directly to the NFHS rule being quoted.

R1 @ 3B .. on the steal F3 cuts off the pitch and tags R1 -

Deadball at end of action.. ie DDB, treated same as CO, with coach option as a result or penalty.

If you two have something better than that in writing I'd like to see it, its the closest I can find.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1