The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 16, 2006, 08:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 964
OK Wade - it is a bit of a trick question because I am quoting an obscure rule that most us probably never heard of.

Change my play a bit, and not have R1 stealing home on the pitch, and lets assume the ball is hit to F4. She has no play at home so she gets the out at first. Now we have clasic CO and you offer the O-coach the option of play or penalty.

BUT - we are quoting ASA 8.1.D.4b or NFHS 8.1.1.e - which is a unique rule applying only to a squeeze or steal home play. IF the batter is obstructed, the penalty is immediate dead ball, award home to R1, and send B2 to 1B. That is supported by ASA casebook 8.1-24.

However, the NFHS casebook play, which you found, is obviously wrong. It is not treated the same as normal CO.

WMB
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1