The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   LSU/UCLA (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/2404-lsu-ucla.html)

oppool Sun May 27, 2001 04:38pm

Top of the 5th LSU gets caught on a BOO my question is did the ump get the call right?

Here is the way I saw the situation 1out and R1 on 1st LSU puts in a improper batter which struck out (2nd out) UCLA coach appealed for BOO before the next pitch the announcers said UCLA coach was correct and LSU assumed the batting order from where it should of been

My question is NCAA different on this than ASA should of not the correct batter who should of been up the 3rd out and the batter following been the batter up the next inning?

Thanks

Don

whiskers_ump Sun May 27, 2001 08:43pm

Don,
Not sure on NCAA, but agree with what you
have for ASA. How about the 3rd BU on
the call of the gal at thrid for moving
her foot off base to kick dirt around?
See an off base call an off base:rolleyes:

oppool Sun May 27, 2001 10:25pm

Found a recap on this game in the UCLA Bruins site what happen I'm sure is there was some confusion the sub came in the bottom of the 4th and played 1st base but took the DH spot in the line-up the starting 1st basemen stayed in her spot in the line-up but then became the DH in the game. The umpire got it right the announcer got it wrong. I believe


Don

IRISHMAFIA Sun May 27, 2001 10:30pm

Unless just changed this year, I do not see anything in the NCAA rule book which keeps any outs made during the BOO as ASA does.

I thought the weird thing was that play was stopped and the manager came in to check-out what was going on AND STILL DIDN'T GET IT RIGHT!

Stupid statement by the announcers concerning when a player goes in on defense everything is fine and dandy, but when they enter the batter's box, they must report the substitution. Yep, put ex-players in the press box and you will get, well, the same bull they dished out when they weren't ex-players. You would think at some point one of these wiz-kid producers would wake up and realize they have a better shot of getting the proper information from an umpire than a former player or coach.

But, that's why they get the big bucks!!

bluezebra Sun May 27, 2001 10:36pm

In BOO, the proper batter is called out, and the following batter comes to bat. You can't get a double out on BOO. You get either the out that the improper batter made, or the proper batter when appealed.

Batting order: Able, Baker, Charles, Davis, Edwards, Fox...
One out, Baker due up. Charles bats instead, strikes out. Defense appeals BOO (why, when they had the out already?). Appeal upheld. Baker called out on BOO (Charles strikeout is wiped off), two outs, Charles comes to bat.

Bob

Dakota Mon May 28, 2001 08:07am

Quote:

Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
You would think at some point one of these wiz-kid producers would wake up and realize they have a better shot of getting the proper information from an umpire than a former player or coach.

LOL - you betcha!

Tough choice for a TV producer, lets see:

a) Dot Richardson, stupid rules interpretations & bigger ratings, or
b) Grizzled old blue (GOB), correct rules interpretations & audience runs screaming for their remotes,

Dot ... GOB
Dot ... GOB

Tough choice, for sure!:)

Dakota Mon May 28, 2001 08:12am

Why?
 
Quote:

Originally posted by bluezebra
(why, when they had the out already
Why? Charles is bottom of the order, .095 batting average. Davis is top of the order, .600 on base percentage (for example). Two shots at Charles for outs two and three? I'd take it.

IRISHMAFIA Mon May 28, 2001 09:51am

I didn't say there had to be an option of one or the other. Nor did I say the umpire had to be on-air. As a consultant, s/he would make these "announcers" look awful smart and at the same time help squelch the disinformation they presently spew out at the audience.

IRISHMAFIA Mon May 28, 2001 09:57am

BZ,

I believe he was comparing the NCAA rule to that in ASA, where if it were BOO, the strikeout would stand along with the out assigned to the batter who failed to bat.

Of course, maybe that confusion is why the coach appealed it prior to the next batter. Maybe she, also, thought she was going to get a free out, but NCAA rules do not allow the umpire to record any outs on a properly appealed BOO.

Mike

Quote:

Originally posted by bluezebra
In BOO, the proper batter is called out, and the following batter comes to bat. You can't get a double out on BOO. You get either the out that the improper batter made, or the proper batter when appealed.

Batting order: Able, Baker, Charles, Davis, Edwards, Fox...
One out, Baker due up. Charles bats instead, strikes out. Defense appeals BOO (why, when they had the out already?). Appeal upheld. Baker called out on BOO (Charles strikeout is wiped off), two outs, Charles comes to bat.

Bob


mo99 Mon May 28, 2001 10:40am

Speaking of ridiculous commentary by former players.Did anyone catch the comments made on the hit batter in the Michigan-Cal game on Saturday.The comment was that only 2 things can happen on a ball that either strikes the knob of the bat or the batters hand.You have a foul ball or a hit batter which the batter gets first base!!!Those kind of comments from a former top player sums up what we have to deal with as umpires.We all know that you can have a pitched ball hit the batter within the strike zone and we have a dead ball and a strike on the batter.I agree that someone with rules knowledge should at least be available to correct improper rules commentary.

Jeff


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1