The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 07, 2005, 07:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by WestMichBlue
The book only says that the pivot foot must drag away from the plate. It doesn't say anything about how far the drag extends or when it ends and she can legally pick up the pivot foot. For eventually, it has to be legal to pick up the foot.

WMB
Speaking ASA

The rule is under the heading of a "legal delivery". I take this to mean that all conditions set forth in 7.3 (with the exception of the restrictions on a pitcher's action after the release) must be met until the delivery is complete (release of the pitch).

To me, this would also mean that the pivot foot must remain in contact with the ground (or not higher than the plane of the ground, if a hole exists) until the release of the pitch.

Dragging the pivot foot really isn't required, just permitted. Yes, I know how the rule reads, but are you going to call a pitcher illegal if she can deliver the pitch without losing contact with the pitcher's plate? BTW, I have seen this a few times.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1