The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 10, 2005, 10:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally posted by David Emerling
Question regarding the ASA ruling ...

In your example above, the umpire would initially award the runner home. If, prior to advancing home, the runner retraced back and touched 1st, would the umpire still award the runner home, or, would he update that award to 3rd?

Just wondering.

David Emerling
Memphis, TN
ASA.

The award is based on the position of the runner at the time of the throw, not "last base legally touched" as sometimes is claimed. So long as the runner does not advance to an awarded base (after the award is announced), the runner may return to retouch during the dead ball. It has no effect on the awarded base.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1