The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 02, 2005, 01:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
In scenario #1, the runner puts herself in jeopardy by returning to the base paths. She is out in the play you posed.

In scenario #2, the same ruling might be thought to apply. However, the approved mechanic is for the umpire to kill the play once the runner safely attains a base she cannot legally attain, assuming all other play has ceased. In your scenario, there are no other runners, so it would be appropriate for the plate umpire to call "dead ball" as soon as the runner safely touches home.

So, if the umpire kills the play, the runner must be returned safely to third. If the umpire does not kill the play (and the Rule 8.4-H does not require that dead ball be called as soon as the base is attained), then the runner is off base, and in jeopardy, same as scenario #1.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1