The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 10, 2005, 12:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hurricane, WV
Posts: 800
Send a message via AIM to Mountaineer Send a message via Yahoo to Mountaineer
OK - here's the official word from NF and ASA. One of our interpreters is tied in fairly high up and got these responses (hasn't heard from NCAA yet).

NF - runners end up on 2nd & 1st. The premise being that we are protecting the runners to their rightful base. Even though the BR has legally touched the base, it still belongs to R1 until she reaches 3rd or is put out. Since she was going TO second when the obstruction occured - that's where she should end up.

ASA - runners end up on 2nd and 3rd. They see the BR as having legally attained 2nd and you cannot take that away from her. That would then force R1 to move to 3rd.

Unfortunately, this is (IMO) the biggest problem in softball - continuity in the rules. We need the governing bodies to band together and develop a set of rules that can be used across all spectrums of the game.

So technically - everyone is correct and everyone is wrong. Scratch your heads but be thankful you umpire softball instead of that communist sport baseball! LOL!

Larry Ledbetter
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1