The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 01, 2001, 08:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 517
You need to answer a couple of questions to make this judgement call.

Was the contact malicious? If yes then out and eject.
(I'm suddenly remembering a ruling on a runner that has scored making malicious contact. Is she just ejected or is she out and ejected? Gotta hit the case book unless somebody has that cite.)
If not malicious then:

Who initiated the contact?
If the runner was running to and tagged the back of the plate, and F2 moved into her path attempting to make a swipe tag, then its probably a nothing.
If the catcher was standing on the front of the plate mearly catching the ball and the runner caused the contact then you may very well have a violation of 8-4-2b or 8-4-2c.
If its a violation of c then the ball is dead and the runner is out. If it was a force play (see 8-4-2e) then you have 2 outs. If its a violation of b then the runner is out and the ball remains alive.

8-4-2h speaks to declaring another runner out for a runner preventing a double play. I didn't see how this could apply to your sitch as presented.


Roger Greene,
member UT
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1