The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 26, 2001, 08:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Speaking ASA and unintentional contact.

8.8.K does not rule the runner out since the catch word in this rule is "untouched".

POE 28.3.b does seem to allow the umpire to call interference ONLY if it is determined that another fielder can make an OUT, not just a play.

Now, in Rule 8 of the 2001 ASA Umpire Clinic Guide the following is stated under Interference and Runner (the emphasis on the words in caps is that of ASA, not mine):

"Any runner hit by a batted FAIR ball BEFORE the ball passes an infielder are OUT. If the ball hits a runner after it is touched by or touches a fielder, the runner is NOT out."

Personally, if I am going to give the benefit of the doubt to anyone, it's going to be the runner. It is going to have to be painfully obvious the the interference was intentional or the second defender was going to get an out by a wide margin.



__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1