The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 30, 2005, 09:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 20
This didn't happen to me, I wasn't even there, but the coach is a good friend of mine and asked me about it.

runner is attempting to score from second on a hit to right field... catcher reaches for ball towards right field, turns to tag and the runner collides with her. Cather drops ball... runner tags plate.

Defensive coach starts screaming about the 'must slide' rule.. umpires confer.. runner is called out. Now again, I wasn't there, but my friend (who was the offensive coach)says there was no malicious contact or intent, that it was a bang-bang play. However, apparently it was a fairly serious collision.

My call (assuming the situation was as described) would be no call, runner is safe.

Comments?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1