The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 28, 2005, 08:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by MrRabbit
Mike,

As you would say, here we go again. I submit that they need to reword or add to 8.6.C. I would believe that they are refering to any other runners on base if you are enforcing rule 8.7.P. and in this case since no other runners are on base closer to home, the batter runner is your second out on the interference call at second. It does not matter if he was safe at first before the interference call at second, his intent was to break up the double play.

Mike (Rabbit)

This would be true, but I was responding to your very general statement that it doesn't matter where the BR is.

If the BR reached 1B safely, s/he is no longer the BR, but a runner. If the BR became a runner and there was no runner in possible jeopardy, there is no INT available, by rule. Unsportsmanlike conduct is a possibility, but the umpire will not get an extra out.

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1