The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 24, 2005, 12:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
Scouring the net for second opinions, WMB? (I've been following the thread about this play on the NFHS board).

In regards to the play up the first base line:

1) At the moment of contact between fielder and runner, how can we say the ball was foul?

It may have been over foul territory, but its status in regards to "fair/foul" had not yet been determined. It was just a live, batted ball.

2) I don't have a problem with the viewpoint that the fielder is "making a play" on this batted ball.

I will agree, as others have stated, that if the ball is foul, then the fielder can no longer be considered to be "making a play".

But this batted ball isn't foul...yet. Until the point at which the umpire declares it foul, can't we still describe the fielder as "making a play"?

Example: Runner on third, batter hits ball along first base foul line as described. Runner from third will score easily on a slow roller. F2 sees that only chance is to touch ball over foul ground to kill the play and prevent the run.

The ball has not yet been touched, nor declared foul. B/R runs into F1, preventing her from fielding the ball. Ball then trickles into fair territory, allowing run to score.

Hasn't the B/R prevented the fielder from making a play?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1