The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 24, 2005, 06:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by WestMichBlue


I just don't understand why a runner on the 3B line committing interference would not be called out the same as a B-R committing the same foul on the 1B side of the field.

WMB
Feel like you are on a merry-go-round and cannot get off?

You want to call interference with the ball in foul territory. However, to call INT, you MUST kill the play and the bounding ball becomes foul instantaneously and an infielder has no play to make because the ball is foul.

Would you call INT if a coach reached out an snagged a bounding ball in foul territory? I would hope not. The second it is touched, the ball is foul. If the ball is foul, it is not possible for the infielder to have a play. If there is no possible play and the ball is dead, how can you have INT?

Now I guess someone is going to tell me how they need to rewrite the rule, the same rule that has been followed for I don't know how many years with no problem.

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:22pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1