![]() |
Well a view weeks ago this happend in a game in the Neth.'s:
Umpire put the wrong runner on second base in a tie-breaker. The "last out" was made on thirth base (she came on 2nd base as tie-break runner), with 1st base loaded (she should be the runner)... What, under ASA and/or ISF-rules, should be done in case defense makes a propper appeal? |
ASA POE #54..
QUOTE <b>"It is the responsibility of the umpire and scorekeeper to notify the teams involved as to what player starts at second base. If the wrong player is placed on the base and it is brought to the umpire's attention, there is no penalty. Correct the error and place the correct operson on the base. This should occur whether a pitch has been thrown, or if the runner has advanced a base. An unreported sub would be disqualified after a pitch has been thrown or a play has been made."</b> UNQUOTE |
Come to think of it Greymule, I haven't either...not in ASA or NFHS (Georgia HS AAAAA Ball).
I believe the Harrell that started this thread, daughter is a pitcher & a darn good one at that! |
Quote:
Glen, thanks! In the game I wrote about both scorekeeper and PU have been sleeping. Then PU screwed up by giving an out on the appeal. Having it handled as wrong batting order... Alex |
Tie Breaker
GA obviously is using th tie breaker rule in hs seperatly? I do not belive that NFHS nationally uses the tie breaker rule. True ? Leaves it up to the individual states to decide weather to use or not ?
|
NFHS allows each state to determine its game-ending procedures.
In WA, every district/conference I work uses the tie-breaker...but no consistency. Some districts start it at top of 8, others 9, and some 10th. At state tournament, it starts at top of 9. |
Interesting
While I wish Indiana did something along the lines of a tie-breaker. We still play it out. It doesn't help when our state HS commisioner is an ex baseball guy.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16am. |