The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 16, 2005, 12:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
My post in "Batter Out ?":
Here we are back to the deflected ball issue again. The BR is not out for contact with the ball as such once "the ball hits his glove". Whether the BR or any other runner interferes with a fielder trying to field a deflected ball is a question we've discussed repeatedly with no firm resolution. Most of us seem to accept the "step and reach" theory, although it's not in any softball rule book I've seen or heard about.

For anyone new, the "step and reach" theory is that if the deflected ball is still within the reach of the fielder, even if one step is needed, the runner may not interfere with the ball or fielder. But if the deflected ball is further away and contacts the runner, it is not interference.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1