The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 03, 2005, 01:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
GCB? A comment from GCB? Great to see something from Joel again!

Not that you need my answer in such elite company, but I agree with it basically being altered path versus intended. I'm pretty sure WMB knows that and it does not really answer the question entirely. Even if the path is straight from 3rd to the "point 3' wide", we don't know when the runner or coach observed the fielder who is blocking. I think we have to call OBS only if it is a visible alteration in the runner's path after facing home or the target base.
Then we have to factor in whether the delay from the OBS was enough to cause the distance from the plate/base where the tag occurred.

On the play described, if " R1's path is to the foul side of home" in a straight line from 3rd, I would rule an out.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1