The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 09, 2005, 11:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
Question

Watched an NSA girls fastpitch softball game earlier today and the following situation occurred:

The game is tied 6-6 in the 5th inning with no time left on the clock. The home team is batting with 1 out and bases loaded. Batter hits a pop fly to shallow right field. F9 catches the ball cleanly and BU signals for the 2nd out of the inning. F9 throws to F2 a little late to get R1 out who did tag up. R2 was off of 2nd when the ball was caught and never tagged up. The defensive coach instructs the F2 to throw the ball to 2nd. F4 catches the ball and steps on 2nd. BU who stayed with the play calls R2 out for failing to tag up. R1 definitely touched home plate before R2 was ruled out for the 3rd out of the inning. FWIW all of this happened bang-bang in just about the same time it took you to read this.

HTBT? If not, does the home team win 7-6 or is the game still tied and go to an inning of international tie-breaker?

BTW I'm a long time reader but this is my first post. Thanks to all for the valuable information on this forum and for any insight into the proper ruling in this situation.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1