The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   ODB Hit by Thrown Ball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/21207-odb-hit-thrown-ball.html)

tzme415 Thu Jul 07, 2005 01:51pm

Another Situation from last night (I had alot of odd plays)

ASA Adult SP
R2 on 1st
R1 on 2nd
Batter gets a hit to outfield - F8 throws ball to F6 - who turns and throws ball right at ODB who is 15-20 feet from Home (Both teams had grey uniforms, so I think he just saw grey and threw) - R2 is has already touched Home when ball hits ODB - ODB had tries to move out of way but lands on ball - ODB was watching runners and not expecting ball to be thrown so far from the plate.

I ruled Dead Ball and left R1 on 3rd and BR on 2nd, since that is where they were when ball hit ODB. After reading some of the other threads about non-runner interference, it seems like maybe I should have called R2 out. This it seems to me would have helped the defense for throwing at the ODB.

How would you have called it?

whiskers_ump Thu Jul 07, 2005 02:13pm

On deck batter could be charged with interference if they interfere with the throw or possible
tag of a runner, but I can see where it probably got very confusing, both teams wearing same
uniforms.

tzme415 Thu Jul 07, 2005 02:59pm

Another problem with this field is not much foul territory for the ODB to stand in. He was already 15-20 feet from plate and against the fence, which is only about 8 feet from the foul line. He had trouble getting out of the way partly because he was against the fence.

AtlUmpSteve Thu Jul 07, 2005 04:53pm

When the ball hits the ODB, we have a blocked ball, and, therefore a dead ball. We have nothing else if you judge that this did not interfere with a defensive player's opportunity to make an out (7-1.E); this can be because there was no action, or because the runners had already safely advanced.

In all cases, the ball becomes dead immediately, and runners are returned to the last base touched (8-5.G(3)); that, in itself, is already a penalty to the offense for the actions (even if inadvertant) of the ODB. If the blocked ball kept a defensive player from an opportunity to make an out, then the runner closest home is out, too.

The ODB can stay in the dugout if there isn't enough room to be on the field; if on the field, s/he is responsible to stay out of live play.

greymule Thu Jul 07, 2005 11:28pm

We wore this out a few months ago.

Abel on 3B, 1 out. Baker hits a fly to F7. Abel tags up after the catch and tries to score. The ODB moves to a point about 15 feet behind home plate, and indicates to Abel that he should slide. The throw bounces through F2 and hits the ODB a split second before Abel slides across the plate.

Ruling: Blocked ball. Send Abel back to 3B.

Can't wait to make that call.

KBoy Fri Jul 08, 2005 01:32pm

I admit that you all have me confused here. What rule are you using to rule this a blocked ball. By rule, the on-deck batter is allowed on the field with certain restriction, and may not interfer with the defensive teams ability to make an out.

They are in a legal position, not discarded equipment and this ODB got hit with a bad throw by an infielder? Sounds like you want to punish the offense for a bad throw by the defense.

IRISHMAFIA Fri Jul 08, 2005 02:31pm

Quote:

Originally posted by KBoy
I admit that you all have me confused here. What rule are you using to rule this a blocked ball. By rule, the on-deck batter is allowed on the field with certain restriction, and may not interfer with the defensive teams ability to make an out.

They are in a legal position, not discarded equipment and this ODB got hit with a bad throw by an infielder? Sounds like you want to punish the offense for a bad throw by the defense.

Speaking ASA.

The ODB does not have a "legal position". There is a position to which they are restricted and only certain times they may leave that area. They must ALWAYS give way to the defense making a play on the ball regardless of the origin of the ball.

BTW, the rule is 7.1.E.1

CecilOne Fri Jul 08, 2005 02:46pm

1) Gold star to F6 for not throwing at the umpire.

2) R2 is out for passing R1.

tzme415 Fri Jul 08, 2005 04:00pm

I see I got my R1 and R2 confused - good catch Cecil

CecilOne Fri Jul 08, 2005 05:06pm

Quote:

Originally posted by tzme415
I see I got my R1 and R2 confused - good catch Cecil
Just for laughs!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1