The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 07, 2005, 10:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
Instead of looking at 8.7.P, look at 8.7.N. Is it possible that may apply?
In the situation, the runner who has scored was intentionally going where she was going, and it had nothing to do with her duties as a runner (since they were completed). Interference does seem to be the correct call, and either rule can apply, it seems to me. Perhaps 8-7-N is an easier fit, since intent is not required, and the runner does fit within the rule.

As regards the international rules, I don't have their rule book, but you should be looking in the EFFECT section of the interference rules where the offensive personnel interfering cannot be called out (coach, on-deck-batter, bench personnel, retired runner, etc.). There it will probably say the runner closest to home will be declared out.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1