The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 02, 2005, 09:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
It was apparent to the fans -at least- that she would have scored if not for the obstruction (she was obstructed with before the ball even hit the ground in the outfield) - the play was close at the plate. I think I am satisfied with all the explanations - and I think she should have been called safe at home. Interestingly, after this occured, I looked at our state HS website which had a clarification of the rule -
(Iowa Girls'HS Athletic Union)
"OBSTRUCTION AWARDS---Just remember, the obstructed runner shall be awarded a minimum of one base beyond the last base legally touched before the obstruction occurred. It does not matter whether the coach is stopping her at that base or it didn’t appear that she was going to go to the next base or not. The fielder is not entitled to be there, so award the penalty. It can be more than one base if the umpire felt the runner would have definitely made more had the obstruction not occurred."


Apparently our umpires didn't read this - or didn't think she would have made it to home (I am SURE it is the first scenario - but they can use the second scenario and be right too....)

Thanks for all the help - now we know!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1