The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Dropped 3rd Strike (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/21107-dropped-3rd-strike.html)

dacodee Thu Jun 30, 2005 02:05pm

OK....

Being a new umpire (ASA Cadet), I understood the D3K Rule as "Less than two out, 1st Base Unoccupied" or "2 outs, 1st Base Occupied".

Worked a 14U Girls game and my experienced partner allowed the BR to advance to 1st when there were 2 out and 1st was unoccupied. The catcher threw her out. However, between innings, my partner stated that when there are two outs, it doesn't matter if 1st is or isn't occupied. Was he correct??? I understood it to be with two out, BR could not attempt to advance to 1st on a dropped third strike.

HELP!!!!




SRW Thu Jun 30, 2005 02:11pm

Draw yourself a logic chart:

1) Is 1B occupied?
1a) If Yes, goto 2
1b) If No, D3K is ON

2) How many outs?
2a) If 0 or 1, D3K is OFF
2b) If 2, D3K is ON

Your partner was correct.

IRISHMAFIA Thu Jun 30, 2005 02:18pm

Quote:

Originally posted by dacodee
OK....

Being a new umpire (ASA Cadet), I understood the D3K Rule as "Less than two out, 1st Base Unoccupied" or "2 outs, 1st Base Occupied".

Worked a 14U Girls game and my experienced partner allowed the BR to advance to 1st when there were 2 out and 1st was unoccupied. The catcher threw her out. However, between innings, my partner stated that when there are two outs, it doesn't matter if 1st is or isn't occupied. Was he correct??? I understood it to be with two out, BR could not attempt to advance to 1st on a dropped third strike.


Your partner is correct. There was a proposed rule change last year that was supposed to be handled through standard housekeeping eliminating all words after "two outs" in the rule book that was overlooked in the end. I've been told it will be changed this year.


greymule Thu Jun 30, 2005 02:32pm

ASA reworded Rule 8-1-B for their 2003 book and inadvertently created a technical error, since "2 outs, 1B unoccupied" is not included. Obviously, all that's needed is, "(1) With fewer than two outs OR (2) With 1B unoccupied."

WestMichBlue Thu Jun 30, 2005 02:42pm

dacodee - when you understand the "Why" it is easier to apply the rule.

If there are runners in force positions (1B, 1B & 2B, or 1B, 2B, & 3B), the catcher can delibertely drop a third strike, pick it up and throw to a base for a force out, and the relay to 1B would complete a double play - one more out than the defense deserved (for the strike out).

So the rule makers said if 1B is occupied then the batter is automatically out - thus no chance for a cheap second out.

OK, so what if there are two outs? Can't get a double play, can you? So the automatic out is off, and the batter-runner now has to be put out if the 3rd strike is not caught.

WMB



streamdoc Thu Jun 30, 2005 03:06pm

And remeber...
 
Although it goes without saying to most of the veterans here, since the original poster is new, and may not have seen this one - if bases are loaded, and 2 outs the catcher can simply pick up the ball and touch the plate since the force is in effect. The first time I saw it, I thought it looked a bit screwy, but it is legal.

dacodee Thu Jun 30, 2005 03:17pm

Thank you all so very much!

I'll tell you... Everytime I've brought an issue to this forum, I've gotten great feedback.

All of you, Take Care! and Have a great holiday weekend.


Stat-Man Thu Jun 30, 2005 03:38pm

Re: And remeber...
 
Quote:

Originally posted by streamdoc
Although it goes without saying to most of the veterans here, since the original poster is new, and may not have seen this one - if bases are loaded, and 2 outs the catcher can simply pick up the ball and touch the plate since the force is in effect. The first time I saw it, I thought it looked a bit screwy, but it is legal.
Had this happen once several years ago. Our JV catcher couldn't catch strike 3 but tagged the plate at our coach's reminder. Funny part is, the opposing team's coach wanted to know why the runner on 3rd was out. (Gee, it's a force out)

NSABlue Thu Jun 30, 2005 09:00pm

Re: Re: And remeber...
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Stat-Man
Quote:

Originally posted by streamdoc
Although it goes without saying to most of the veterans here, since the original poster is new, and may not have seen this one - if bases are loaded, and 2 outs the catcher can simply pick up the ball and touch the plate since the force is in effect. The first time I saw it, I thought it looked a bit screwy, but it is legal.
Had this happen once several years ago. Our JV catcher couldn't catch strike 3 but tagged the plate at our coach's reminder. Funny part is, the opposing team's coach wanted to know why the runner on 3rd was out. (Gee, it's a force out)

Not to hard to understand, you are talking about a JV coach,right?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1