The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 30, 2005, 11:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
We all know that bunting is illegal in slow pitch. A batter who bunts a pitch is out. In a recent business league game, I called a batter out for bunting (though he made a comical attempt to fake a full swing by continuing to move the bat around after the bunt).

But if the bunted ball is foul, is the batter still out? Or do the words "within the infield" imply that to be considered a bunt, a ball must be fair?

And suppose a batter bunts and the runner on 1B runs. F2 catches the bunt in the air and throws to 1B to get the runner for leaving before the catch. Do we allow the double play or call the batter out and return the runner to 1B?

I assume that a bunt attempt that misses is not considered a bunt but would still be a strike. And that a bunt foul on strike 3 would be an out.

Same with a chop. Suppose a batter obviously chops down on a ball but fouls it or even misses it? Is he out?
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1