The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 19, 2005, 09:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 962
Ok here is the play as described to me. D3K runner is running to 1st in foul territory as fielder has set up on white bag for throw from catcher (ball on 1st base side foul territory if it matters). Throw draws F3 toward foul territory ending up with her "stretch" foot in front of the orange bag, basically blocking both parts of the double first base. Coach wanted to know what the call was.

I told him off top of my head, it was a HTBT call. If the batter-runner altered her path because of the fielder trying to catch the ball and as a result blocked both parts of the base it was obstruction and the batter-runner should be awarded 1st. If the runner did not alter her path then there was no call, B-R out play on. So it depended on timing and location when this all occurred.

How close was I?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1