The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2005, 11:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
Couple questions on the look back rule.

Scenario 1:

R1 at 2nd. She's off the base at the release of the pitch. The pitcher has the ball in her glove and in the circle. R1 heads back to 2nd. Now, before R1 makes it to 2nd, the pitcher puts the ball and glove between her legs in order to fix her hair. Can the runner now advance to 3rd or once she's committed to going back to 2nd must she continue to 2nd? In other words, is the LBR off now that the pitcher no longer possesses the ball?

Scenario 2:

BR rounds 1st to the left and heads for 2nd, she then stops. The rule book says that she is committed to 2nd. If she goes back to 1st, do we rule her out on LBR or does the defense have to tag her out? They can't step on 2nd for the out, because its not a force, correct?

Scenario 3:

The rule book says that once the runner stops at a base, they can not leave the base. Does the pitcher have to have possession of the ball within the circle before this takes effect? Suppose R1 at 1st steals second on a pass ball and stops at second. She does not round the base. Now suppose before the pitcher has the ball in the circle she steps off the base. Is she out?

Thanks!
Randall


__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1