The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 12, 2005, 06:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by nzumpire
R1 on 1st, running on the pitch. B2 hits a low line drive to F6, who catches the ball. F6 then throws to F3, attempting to catch R1 off base before he can return to tag-up after the catch. R1 attempts to return to 1st but is obstructed by F4.
The ball reaches F3, who touches 1st and legally appeals before R1 can recover and return to the base. The umpire considers R1 would not have returned in time, even had the obstruction not occurred, so calls R1 out.
The offensive team coach then insists that the out should be overturned, claiming that no runner can be called out between the bases where he was obstructed.
Except upon proper appeal of a base left too soon.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1