The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 10, 2005, 10:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by Dakota
We are talking about ground rules to cover a batted ball contacting a backstop that actually overhangs fair territory. It is entirely reasonable for the ground rule to rule this a dead ball, but not a foul ball. This would mean a player attempting a bunt with 2 strikes would not be out with a foul ball if the batted ball contacts the backstop over fair territory.
With few exceptions, and this is not one of them, all batted ball must have a resolution. IOW, you just cannot ignore it. If the batted ball isn't fair or caught in flight, it must be foul. If it isn't foul, it must be in play.

Then there is ASA rule 8.5.H. This rule states that if the batter pops up and the ball comes down on top of the backstop over fair territory, it is a two-base award.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1