The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 30, 2005, 02:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 382
No runners on 2 strikes on the batter and a pitch is swung out and missed, the catcher misses the ball and it rebounds off his chest protector , guards and leg guards then recovers the ball in the glove .
What do we have?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 30, 2005, 02:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Strike 3 (caught).
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 30, 2005, 04:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,820
All catches, with the sole exception of a foul tip, can be trapped or ricochet off a player and equipment, as long as it is ultimately caught by definition. The exception isn't that it started as a pitch, it is only for a foul tip.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 30, 2005, 09:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally posted by AtlUmpSteve
All catches, with the sole exception of a foul tip, can be trapped or ricochet off a player and equipment, as long as it is ultimately caught by definition. The exception isn't that it started as a pitch, it is only for a foul tip.
I think you meant what would have been a foul tip, except it went directly to the catcher's equipment instead of glove or hand. If caught (by F2 or anyone else) it is merely a foul ball.

The foul tip can be caught after it hits the catcher's equipment, so long as it hit the glove or hand first.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 30, 2005, 11:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 189
Quote:
The foul tip can be caught after it hits the catcher's equipment, so long as it hit the glove or hand first. [/B]
Seeing as how there is a batter and PU, what if, after it hits catchers hand or glove, the ball is touched by one of them (intentionally or not) and dropped by catcher.
Reason for thought is I saw a catcher push a batter out of the way to make a catch so as to avoid possible INT or OBS. He had it happen before and decided to take evasive action because the call didnt go his way. I was just spectating, but I did ask him why he did it after the game.
BU called him out for unsportsmanlike conduct, loose/loose, I didnt say a word.
__________________
Wearing the uniform doesnt make you an official
anymore than going to McDonalds
makes you a hamburger.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 01, 2005, 12:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 382
Dakota No No it is as I stated .
A simple situation , no tricks but how many get it wrong ?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 01, 2005, 09:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally posted by debeau
Dakota No No
I'm confused... "No No" about what?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 02, 2005, 02:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 382
No No it wasnt a foul tip .
This is a simple question .
A pen is just a pen
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 02, 2005, 10:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
My response on the foul tip was to the semi-hijack post by AtlUmpSteve.

To your situation, my first response applies - it is merely a caught strike 3.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 02, 2005, 02:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,820
My point, in mentioning the foul tip, was that the foul tip definition is an exception, and shouldn't be used to confuse a catch. I didn't mean to even "semi" hijack the post, and was surprised you then steered the response to the exception I stated, rather than the actual response.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 02, 2005, 03:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Talking

Did not hijack... you did!
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1