![]() |
|
|
|||
The rest of us have shorter memories, or you forgot 4018 days.
![]()
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
semi-hijack...
NCAA JUCO game, IF situation, lazy pop fly directly toward 2B. F6, starting halfway between 1B & 2B, drifts casually to be there just as it comes down (as in "not camped out under it"). Neither of us signal IF. Reviewing afterwards, there could have easily been a collision with the runner on 2B, causing a dropped ball. Then chaos would've ensued. Seems like a perfect situation in which IF could be called after the fact... |
|
|||
Quote:
Why are a possible collision or chaos or "after the fact" factors in the call?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
Defensive coach will want INT. Offensive coach will want OBS. Runners might begin running. Runner from first only might start running. Ball might be dropped, picked up and thrown out of play. Multiple rundowns might occur. A hawk flying overhead might drop a dead chipmunk in the path of a runner. (And the offensive coach will want OBS.) Yah... any of that.
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Anyway, your situation sounds like a routine infield fly ball catchable with ordinary effort. You are describing an IF, so it should have been called "during" the fact, not after. Unless, of course, you are suggesting that JUCO infielders need to ordinarily be camped under the fly ball to catch it! ![]()
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Quote:
NCAA rules do NOT allow an after-the-fact Infield Fly. If not declared, it isn't an IF. NCAA 11.17 That said, remember the purpose of the rule is to protect the offense from the defense creating a double play situation with runners bound to stay at their base; you should NOT fail to declare the IF because an infielder coasts to an obviously routine catch rather than camping under it.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
Understood Steve, and I wouldn't hesitate to call the IF (after the fact) if it turned out that the runners had been put in jeopardy.
FWIW, if I was PU, I probably would have signaled it. Not making excuses :/ Thanks for the information about NCAA. I thought the "after the fact" aspect was an interpretation all rule formats (not a black and white rule in some and not NCAA). Not doubting your call at all, but can you steer me to where 11.17 says there is a time when it's too late to call it (besides Note #2)? Last edited by jmkupka; Wed Apr 06, 2016 at 09:40am. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|