| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			    This happened yesterday.  13-18 rec game using ASA rules. I'm solo.  Bases loaded.  1 out.  Wind is howling and whipping through the field.  Batter hits a pop up toward pitcher which would normally be an easy out.  With ball at its apex I call IFF (coach later says he didn't hear, more on that later) and just then a huge gust of wind blows and the balls starts driting toward the 1st base line.  I immediately add "if fair" and wait.  Ball hits ground 3 feet fair starts rolling toward line and at the last second pitcher picks up ball on the line (fair).  I point and verbalize again "IFF, batter out".  Pitcher throws to catcher who tags girl comming home (for some reason). 3rd out.  Coach screems they didn't hear IFF("doesn't matter, I said it.  Maybe the wind?"). Then he says "you didn't call that until the pitcher picked up the ball".  "That was the 2nd time I called it coach" says I.  More grumbling but life goes on. 
 
     Should I have verbalized the IFF the 2nd time when pitcher picked up the ball?  I was trying to be clear on a close call but maybe the verbalization the 2nd time wasn't proper mechanics.  Ideas?
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
			
			
			
			
				 
			
			
			
			
			
			
			
				
			
			
			
		 
	
	 |