The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 05, 2016, 04:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
semi-hijack...

NCAA JUCO game, IF situation, lazy pop fly directly toward 2B. F6, starting halfway between 1B & 2B, drifts casually to be there just as it comes down (as in "not camped out under it"). Neither of us signal IF.

Reviewing afterwards, there could have easily been a collision with the runner on 2B, causing a dropped ball. Then chaos would've ensued.

Seems like a perfect situation in which IF could be called after the fact...
Is it even possible to hijack a zombie thread?

Anyway, your situation sounds like a routine infield fly ball catchable with ordinary effort. You are describing an IF, so it should have been called "during" the fact, not after. Unless, of course, you are suggesting that JUCO infielders need to ordinarily be camped under the fly ball to catch it!
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 05, 2016, 08:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,813
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
semi-hijack...

NCAA JUCO game, IF situation, lazy pop fly directly toward 2B. F6, starting halfway between 1B & 2B, drifts casually to be there just as it comes down (as in "not camped out under it"). Neither of us signal IF.

Reviewing afterwards, there could have easily been a collision with the runner on 2B, causing a dropped ball. Then chaos would've ensued.

Seems like a perfect situation in which IF could be called after the fact...
Houston, we have a problem.

NCAA rules do NOT allow an after-the-fact Infield Fly. If not declared, it isn't an IF. NCAA 11.17

That said, remember the purpose of the rule is to protect the offense from the defense creating a double play situation with runners bound to stay at their base; you should NOT fail to declare the IF because an infielder coasts to an obviously routine catch rather than camping under it.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 06, 2016, 09:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
Understood Steve, and I wouldn't hesitate to call the IF (after the fact) if it turned out that the runners had been put in jeopardy.
FWIW, if I was PU, I probably would have signaled it.

Not making excuses :/

Thanks for the information about NCAA. I thought the "after the fact" aspect was an interpretation all rule formats (not a black and white rule in some and not NCAA).
Not doubting your call at all, but can you steer me to where 11.17 says there is a time when it's too late to call it (besides Note #2)?

Last edited by jmkupka; Wed Apr 06, 2016 at 09:40am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1