![]() |
|
|||
This is not a blanket statement
Quote:
When the batter-runner...intentionally interferes with a thrown ball while out of the batter's box. So intent is required if out of the batter's box. Play 8.2-19 is not exactally like your play, but it is relevant. R1 is on 3B. The batter hits a fair ground ball to F3 who fields the ball near the line. They throw the ball to the catcher attempting to retire R1. The throw hits the batter-runner who intentionally interfers. Ruling: Dead ball. This is interference based on the intentional act. R1 returns to 3B. (8-2F; 1-INTERFERENCE).
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
Bookmarks |
|
|