The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 25, 2005, 10:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 284
Under the double first base guidelines, it would seem implied that one reason for the double bases is to avoid collisions between the BR and F3..
Sitch.. F3 is straddling the white bag with one foot, in the dirt, on the baseline from 1B to 2B and the other on the orange bag.. A non-malicious collision occurs due to the close play at 1B.
F3 has the ball before hand, BR out, no obtruction, but the collision is hard and both F3 and the BR go down pretty hard..
From basketball, if there's no advantage gain by one player over another and regardless of the medical outcome (Scapes, cuts, broken bones), we have a case of incidental contact.
Is that what we have here? Or is there a penalty for taking up too much real estate by F3. The throw from F5 was on the money, so this is simply a case of positioning by F3.
__________________
Chuck Lewis
Ronan, MT

Give a man a fish and you'll feed him for a day.
Teach a man to fish and he could be gone every weekend.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 25, 2005, 10:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 964
If F3's foot is on the orange bag, NO OUT!

Could have a case for interference (Runner staying on feet and crashing into fielder with ball); maybe could find a case for obstruction.

I would go with incidental contact. But not getting the out sends a message to F3 to get the right position in the future - which will minimize future collisions.

WMB
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 25, 2005, 10:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
One of the most understood parts of OBS (especially by coaches, but some by umpires too) is that the mere act of being in the baseline without the ball is NOT obstruction... not by itself.

The act of being in the baseline without the ball must cause the runner to react in some way for this to be OBS.

On the play you describe, I have nothing as far as OBS / INT.

Also, as noted by WMB (and this is often called wrong too) --- the orange bag, for the fielder, is merely dirt unless the throw is coming from foul ground. Your F3 had both feet on dirt, and never touched 1st base. SAFE!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 26, 2005, 02:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 382
From one of your NZ friends
I agree with both Westmichblue and mccrowder
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1