The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 23, 2005, 10:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 284
SECTION 30 INFIELD FLY RULE
Infield fly rule is, when declared by the umpire, a fair fly (not including a line drive or an attempted bunt) that can be caught by an infielder with ordinary effort when runners are on first and second or all three bases are occupied and before there are two outs in the inning. Any defensive player positioned in the infield at the time of the pitch shall be considered an infielder for the purposes of this rule. The rule does not preclude outfielders from being permitted to make the catch. The ball is live, the batter is out, which removes the force, but runners may advance at their own risk. The runners may tag up and advance as soon as the batted ball is touched by a fielder. If a declared infield fly becomes foul, it is treated as a foul ball, not an infield fly.

In the second to the last sentence "The runners may tag up and advance as soon as the batted ball is touched by a fielder." Does this mean that on a called IFF, whether the fly is dropped or caught, on the touch the batter is out and runners do not need to tag up at all? TIA
__________________
Chuck Lewis
Ronan, MT

Give a man a fish and you'll feed him for a day.
Teach a man to fish and he could be gone every weekend.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 24, 2005, 12:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 189
The batter is out, period. Touching the ball has nothing to do with that part of the play.
Just like any other fly ball, BR are at risk and must tag up.
__________________
Wearing the uniform doesnt make you an official
anymore than going to McDonalds
makes you a hamburger.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 24, 2005, 12:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,718
'In the second to the last sentence "The runners may tag up and advance as soon as the batted ball is touched by a fielder." Does this mean that on a called IFF, whether the fly is dropped or caught, on the touch the batter is out and runners do not need to tag up at all? TIA'

1..The batter is out when the IFF is called, not when the ball is touched.

2..As in ANY flyball, the runners MUST tag up, and are released as soon as the ball is touched.

Bob
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 24, 2005, 03:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 382
Agree that IFF batter is out when called correctly
Runner can run on the hit and if not caught they are ok if they reach the base safely .
If caught however they must return to tag up or risk an appeal for leaving early
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 24, 2005, 09:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by bluezebra


2..As in ANY flyball, the runners MUST tag up, and are released as soon as the ball is touched.

Bob
Should read: As in any CAUGHT fly ball, the runner's are subject to being ruled out on proper appeal should they leave the base prior to first contact by a member of the defense or not retouch the base after first contact.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1