The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   You Make the Call (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/19875-you-make-call.html)

whiskers_ump Fri Apr 22, 2005 12:17am

<i>This one was presented to me by an umpire working a Middle School game using Federation Rules.

R1 on first, steals second as B1 takes her second strike, throw from F2 gets past F4 and R1 heads to third. PU moves up the line and has a 'safe' call at 3rd. PU goes back to the plate, next pitch is strike 3. Batter says that's her first strike, that she just came to the plate. Turns out B1 thought she already had 3 strikes and went to dugout during the steal. What do you have?</i>

I have B1 with 2 strikes (no memtion of ball count) and R1 safe at 3B.

Maybe she went to change bats. Call her back, she is entitled to finish
her at bat. You would not aware 1B if it was only ball three.


softball_junky Fri Apr 22, 2005 06:45am

Re: NCAA note.
 
Using the original sitch and this interpretation, B1 (with two strikes) would merely be a footnote in the scorebook. [Neither out, nor batting] B2 has one strike and the game proceeds.

This doesn't seem right. Then anytime you get two strikes, go to the dugout and bring the next batter out. I feel you have to count the strike out. Next batter up no count.









kellerumps Fri Apr 22, 2005 07:17am

Re: Re: NCAA note.
 
Quote:


This doesn't seem right. Then anytime you get two strikes, go to the dugout and bring the next batter out. I feel you have to count the strike out. Next batter up no count.

If you have ever read the NCAA rulebook you say to yourself...Oh...Okay...Thats seems normal. There are some goofy rules in there.


mick Fri Apr 22, 2005 07:34am

Re: Re: NCAA note.
 
Quote:

Originally posted by softball_junky
"Using the original sitch and this interpretation, B1 (with two strikes) would merely be a footnote in the scorebook. [Neither out, nor batting] B2 has one strike and the game proceeds."

This doesn't seem right. Then <U>anytime you get two strikes, go to the dugout and bring the next batter out.</U> I feel you have to count the strike out. Next batter up no count.

softball_junky,
Anytime?
Uh, no.
Refusing to bat could be considered to be an unsporting act.
That didn't happen, did it? ;)
mick

Dakota Fri Apr 22, 2005 09:07am

Quote:

Originally posted by whiskers_ump
I have B1 with 2 strikes (no memtion of ball count) and R1 safe at 3B.

Maybe she went to change bats. Call her back, she is entitled to finish
her at bat. You would not aware 1B if it was only ball three.

The problem with bringing her back is a pitch has been thrown to B2.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1