The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 20, 2005, 01:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 284
Speaking ASA/Fed, are there provisions to correct errors in any given contest, such as in basketball?? Like before the next out, before the next half/full inning, before the second live ball following a dead ball, etc... TIA
__________________
Chuck Lewis
Ronan, MT

Give a man a fish and you'll feed him for a day.
Teach a man to fish and he could be gone every weekend.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 20, 2005, 02:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Almost always before the next pitch. Managers can protest mistaken rulings (not judgement calls), managers can appeal missed bases, batting out of order. Umpires can correct situations where their own error put one side at jeopardy.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 20, 2005, 10:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 209
Don't forget about the next play. it does not have to be a pitch. It could be a pickoff play too.

And by pitch, it does not have to be a legal one. Illegal ones count towards this too.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 21, 2005, 06:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Posts: 414
I have never quite grasped the "uncorrectable" errors RE: Infield Fly Rule. I have been told that:
1) If we call it, and it was in fact was not an I.F. situation..too bad. Players should had known we blew it while it was happening. ie we call Infield fly and no one catches the ball. The batter stops running, and leaves the field. Coach says "Hey-she's not out". Too bad we can't fix it.
2) We forget to call I.F., & then the ball is not caught. Coach says "Hey blue-she's out right ?", we say OH yeah I forgot. We can't fix that one either ?
.
So why is it that the Ump clearly misapplied the rule in both cases, and yet they are not protestable, or correctable.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 21, 2005, 06:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,158
IFR

Regarding Sitch #2 I believe Rule 7-4-1h indicates the batter is out even if the IFR is not called.

Regarding Sitch #1 i will let others answer that one.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 21, 2005, 06:48am
softball_junky
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Infield Fly is a judgment call. I think if you called an Infield Fly and say you didn't have runners on 1,2, or 1,2,3. that is a missed rule and you could fix it.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 21, 2005, 08:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Sitch 1 - runners and fielders (and yes, umpires) should know the sitch. Not correctable, as no one SHOULD HAVE been in jeopardy had they been aware of the true situation.

Sitch 2 is definitely correctable.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 21, 2005, 08:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
Cool

Read this in NFHS Guide,

[QUOTE]A veteran umpire once erroneously called an IF in a game with runners
on second and third. Slick fielding all-star SS looked straight at the umpire
and said, "IF?" Quickly realizing the error, the umpire pointed at her and said,
"You'd better catch it!" Laughing at the reply, she easily moved under the
ball to make the catch.
Obviously, an improperly declared infield fly is not an infield fly.
__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 21, 2005, 09:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,820
There are two parts to the IFR; one part is rule, and is correctable if misapplied, the other part is judgment, and cannot be corrected.

Part one, rule application, is calling an infield fly when the rule does not apply, OR not calling it when it does apply. This is correctable if misapplied, just like any other misapplied rule. If that placed a runner or defender in jeopardy, then that is correctable, but it takes a big stretch, IMO. Runners and fielders are expected to know if the IFR is applicable.

Part two, judgment, is the "can be caught with ordinary effort" decision. That part cannot be reconsidered or corrected, no matter how badly the judgment may appear after the play is over.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1