The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Apr 12, 2005, 11:14am
Official Forum Member

I am curious about the umpire dress code. This is my first year umpiring and am enjoying it immensly!! I was told at our first meeting by the UIC that wearing shorts was fine as long as I matched shirts with my partner. I have recieved some good natured ribbing about the shorts from some of the "old timers" and have just laughed it off.

When I got to my game (playing, not umpiring)last night I was informed that one of the umpires was sent home because he was wearing shorts and didn't match his partner. My question is who decides who matches with who? Are long pants the prefered way to go and shorts are just tolerated?

Any help would be appreciated! I have a call into my UIC as we speak but would like other points of view as well!
Old Tue Apr 12, 2005, 11:44am
Official Forum Member

Here, shorts are acceptable only for slow pitch.

Since I don't (haven't) called slow pitch, I've never paid any attention to the requirements for matching.
Old Tue Apr 12, 2005, 12:02pm
Ref Ump Welsch

It depends on league, tournament, state, etc., requirements. For example, here in Omaha, for league and weekend tournament play (just a regular tournament, and I'm speaking from slow-pitch), we're allowed to wear shorts, even if our partner has pants on. It's an individual preference.

As for the state tournaments here in Nebraska, we have to match our partner in regards to shirt and pants/shorts. If they're wearing shorts, I can wear shorts. If he/she's got pants on, I have to switch to pants. Same with the shirt, as some city leagues apparently use the navy blue shirts while most use the powder blue.