The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 13, 2001, 09:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
18U ASA tournament. One out, runner on 3rd, batter hits a
line shot to pitcher. Ball hits pitchers glove with such
force it knocks glove and ball to ground. Ball remains in
pocket of glove - glove remains face up showing ball to all.
No call is made by either umpire until the pitcher picks up
the glove with ball still in it, then plate umpire goes up
with the right hand for an out. Plate umpire allows run to
score, since as soon as the ball hit glove runner could go
on fly(line-drive). Plate umpire defended self by saying
that as soon as pitcher picked up glove/ball she had control
and an out. Make sense to anyone???Only one other umpire
agreed with the out call.
__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1