![]() |
18U ASA tournament. One out, runner on 3rd, batter hits a
line shot to pitcher. Ball hits pitchers glove with such force it knocks glove and ball to ground. Ball remains in pocket of glove - glove remains face up showing ball to all. No call is made by either umpire until the pitcher picks up the glove with ball still in it, then plate umpire goes up with the right hand for an out. Plate umpire allows run to score, since as soon as the ball hit glove runner could go on fly(line-drive). Plate umpire defended self by saying that as soon as pitcher picked up glove/ball she had control and an out. Make sense to anyone???Only one other umpire agreed with the out call. |
BR Safe
ASA Rule 8 Section 6, F....Glove has to be Intentionally used to catch the ball which is detached from its proper place on a person to be applied.....So no bases would be awarded beyond what the BR obtained.....Look at Play 8.6-25 in this years ASA Casebook.....The glove was off the hand due to the line drive and not thrown at the ball. No catch is called...Batter is safe
|
Yup, Bandit's right, no catch. And, had F1 picked up glove & ball & tossed the glove to F3 in time, that's an out.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30pm. |