The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 07, 2005, 08:08am
JEL JEL is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 910
Quote:
Originally posted by kjm930
Just wondering the ASA rule on this one. A girl on our team (10 and under slowpitch) is using her mom's old mitt. Her mom was a 1st basemen, she is not. Can another coach protest a game if a girl is playing short or third wearing a first basemen's mitt? Thanks for your replies.
Can't protest the game, but you can "protest" the illegal glove/mitt. If a play is made the offended team will have an option to take any part of the play, or nullify the play. If the umpire refuses to allow that, and says the glove doesn't matter then you could protest the entire game. (well, the game from that point on)

From a coaching perspective, as with batting out of order, I wouldn't point out the illegal act until the penalty to the other team would benefit mine. In other words, if the SS is wearing a catchers mitt, but never makes an out with it why protest it? She may make a play in the 7th that you could reverse and thus benefit your team.

As an umpire, I would have the glove removed as soon as I was aware of it.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1