![]() |
A foul tip is a dead ball, and runners may not advance..... ( I learn something new every time I take the field....)
|
Ive not heard that...
Source? |
Only in slow pitch. See Rule 2-25-2.
|
apparently its something new..... a coach told me..and they are NEVER wrong.......... right? :-)
|
Quote:
|
WADE
Whaddaya mean you never heard of this rule. It's listed on the same page that tells you the hands are part of the bat.............. And I've never known a coach to be wrong must be going a bit nuts with all the rain/snow outs this week. |
the bad part is that the coach kept yelling it from the dugout..finally had to call time and educate a little bit
|
lol
amazing. |
Quote:
http://smilies.sofrayt.com/1/q/confused.gif[Automated by GetSmile] |
While we are talking about the things that coaches know, I can "one-up" this one.
Two weeks ago I was working a NJCAA game. Infield fly was in effect. The batter hit a Mt. Everest of a pop-up that F5 was camped under standing in foul territory. I call "infield fly batter out if fair," since it was close to the line. At the last minute, a gust of wind blows the ball fair, just over the line, and the fielder juts her glove out to catch the ball, and drops it. I call the batter out. Home coach comes out of the dugout and questions how I could have the out, since the fielder was standing in foul territory when she touched the ball. I agreed that the fielder was indeed in foul territory, but when she first touched the ball, it was in fair territory and the location of the ball was all that mattered in determining fair or foul status. After a brief discussion in which she promised to look up the rule since she knew I was wrong, I informed her that the play would stand. (Nope, this isn't the end of it.) As I was walking back to take my position behind the plate, I hear the visiting team's coach say to his assistant, "Wow! We got a free out on that one. It should have been a foul ball." And these are the guys who get paid to "know the game." Sheesh. |
You must not have heard of the 'weather is part of the ball' rule.
http://smilies.sofrayt.com/1/e/ak47yl.gif |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
I had a college coach tell me that the hands were part of the bat. I told her they weren't and she asked me to ask my partner for help. Hmmmmmmmmmm. I told her that I did not need any help on that one.
|
Hell i've had a umpire agree with a coach that hands were part of the bat. I think I posted here when it happened last year.
|
Quote:
Uh-oh....ASA must have adopted this new Fed rule. The mrs heard it last night in th 12U rec league! I wish someone would inform us umpires about these changes before they tell the fans! |
FOUL TIP
C'mon people, these rules are from the same book that says a tie goes to the runner. Of course a batted ball going behind the catcher to the backstop is a foul tip.....it never went over the batter's head. And on the back page of this book is an add where you can get various bats complete with a set of hands.
Michael |
dont tell anyone.....a tie DOES go to the runner...
|
Is that a bow tie?
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12am. |