The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Batted ball off the knuckles, 8-1-F-2 pg 104 (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/19170-batted-ball-off-knuckles-8-1-f-2-pg-104-a.html)

chuck chopper Thu Mar 17, 2005 07:38am

Book says its a "strike" not a foul. So arguement in class last night was in FP batter would be out (if already had 2 strikes) Is this proper interpretation ?

IRISHMAFIA Thu Mar 17, 2005 07:50am

Quote:

Originally posted by chuck chopper
Book says its a "strike" not a foul. So arguement in class last night was in FP batter would be out (if already had 2 strikes) Is this proper interpretation ?
Absolutely, and if there was an argument and this was a class of umpires, someone needs work. You cannot have a foul ball if the ball hasn't touched the bat. No, the hands are not part of the bat.

BTW, true in all games, not just FP.

mick Thu Mar 17, 2005 08:01am

Quote:

Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
Quote:

Originally posted by chuck chopper
Book says its a "strike" not a foul. So arguement in class last night was in FP batter would be out (if already had 2 strikes) Is this proper interpretation ?
Absolutely, and if there was an argument and this was a class of umpires, someone needs work. You cannot have a foul ball if the ball hasn't touched the bat. No, the hands are not part of the bat.

BTW, true in all games, not just FP.

Mike,
Is this play subject to the rules for an uncaught third strike?
Thanks.
mick

IRISHMAFIA Thu Mar 17, 2005 08:03am

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
Quote:

Originally posted by chuck chopper
Book says its a "strike" not a foul. So arguement in class last night was in FP batter would be out (if already had 2 strikes) Is this proper interpretation ?
Absolutely, and if there was an argument and this was a class of umpires, someone needs work. You cannot have a foul ball if the ball hasn't touched the bat. No, the hands are not part of the bat.

BTW, true in all games, not just FP.

Mike,
Is this play subject to the rules for an uncaught third strike?
Thanks.
mick

No. The ball is dead ANYTIME it touches the batter.

mick Thu Mar 17, 2005 08:18am

Quote:

Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
Quote:

Originally posted by chuck chopper
Book says its a "strike" not a foul. So arguement in class last night was in FP batter would be out (if already had 2 strikes) Is this proper interpretation ?
Absolutely, and if there was an argument and this was a class of umpires, someone needs work. You cannot have a foul ball if the ball hasn't touched the bat. No, the hands are not part of the bat.

BTW, true in all games, not just FP.

Mike,
Is this play subject to the rules for an uncaught third strike?
Thanks.
mick

No. The ball is dead ANYTIME it touches the batter.

Thanks, Mike.
That works.
Is that the same application for a grounded pitch that hits the batter, as the batter swings and misses?--> Dead ball, strike three?
mick

chuck chopper Thu Mar 17, 2005 08:23am

If the pitch catches some hand & some bat, disregard the bat & still use the rule as stated in 8-1-F-2 ?

JEL Thu Mar 17, 2005 09:04am

Quote:

Originally posted by chuck chopper
If the pitch catches some hand & some bat, disregard the bat & still use the rule as stated in 8-1-F-2 ?
Absolutely.
Remember this is on a swing. If the ball hits the hands outside of the strike zone, and the batter is not swinging, you have a HBP (as long as an attempt to not be hit was made). The hitting of the hands is probably easier to hear than actually see, but is fairly easy to judge.


I had a TB coach/scorekeeper last year (certified ASA umpire....her words) yell at my wife who was PU, NO NO NO, if she is swinging and the ball hits her BELOW the elbow it is a strike, anywhere ABOVE the elbow it is a HBP (swinging or not)! I sent her back to the dugout.

Dakota Thu Mar 17, 2005 09:43am

Quote:

Originally posted by chuck chopper
If the pitch catches some hand & some bat, disregard the bat & still use the rule as stated in 8-1-F-2 ?
Actually, in this situation you need to judge which it hit first. (good luck with that!)

Anyway, if it hit the bat first, it is a foul ball (1-FOUL BALL-F for ASA).

If it hit the hand first, it is a dead ball strike. (rule already cited).

chuck chopper Thu Mar 17, 2005 09:53am

I think what we mostly experience is the "some bat/some hand" (simultaneous) can't really tell which came first. So most of us have been calling it a FOUL. Then in class we started the debate. However it is good to know & note that if its hands first, or only hands..then its a dead ball STRIKE.

SWFLguy Thu Mar 17, 2005 10:40am

discussion like this is what makes
this forum so useful !!!
like the "slap or bunt" the other week--
I end up visualizing stuff in my head
when I have trouble sleeping at night !!
Now I'll be "seeing" balls hitting hands
on a swing----- "dead ball strike" !!
Keep up the good work guys,
and I hope the rookies read this stuff.

rj Fri Mar 18, 2005 10:30am

As a 2nd year umpire, I want to make sure I have this right. Maybe I'm confused or misinterpreted some of this discussion but I thought the rule states that if the batter is hit on the hands while swinging at a pitch and hits the ball fair or foul, the ball is dead and a strike called. If 3rd strike, the batter is out. So, when do you consider the hands part of the bat?

jxt127 Fri Mar 18, 2005 10:36am

The hands are never part of the bat.

Dakota Fri Mar 18, 2005 10:37am

Quote:

Originally posted by rj
As a 2nd year umpire, I want to make sure I have this right. Maybe I'm confused or misinterpreted some of this discussion but I thought the rule states that if the batter is hit on the hands while swinging at a pitch and hits the ball fair or foul, the ball is dead and a strike called. If 3rd strike, the batter is out. So, when do you consider the hands part of the bat?
The hands are never part of the bat. The hands are always - <font size=5><b>always</b></font> part of the batter.

OK, with that, then, change the situation. The ball hits the batter's foot. (Just another part of the batter - just like the hands).

If the batter swings at a pitch, missses, and the ball hits her in the foot, what do you call?

1) DEAD BALL (batter hit by pitch)
2) STRIKE (swing and a miss)

If the batter swings at a pitch, hits the ball, and the ball hits her in the foot (while still in the batter's box), what do you call?

FOUL BALL.

Exactly the same for the hands.

chuck chopper Fri Mar 18, 2005 10:37am

Never. And we all wonder where that notion came from ??


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1