The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 02, 2005, 12:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Quote:
The batter may not overrun first base when he/she gets a base-on-balls. FALSE in all codes except high school. This is TRUE if a league is using high school rules. See high school baseball rule 8-4-2h exception & high school softball rule 8-7-3d & 8-7-3e.


The rule you quoted here merely has to do with the lookback rule. It doesn't prevent a runner from over running first base on a base on balls.

8:7:d states: "A batter-runner who overruns first base toward right field, turns left and move back to the infield in anu direction except directly toward second base is committed to first base and must return to first base."

8:7:e: "A batter-runner who overruns first base toward right field and turns right is committed to first base and must return to first base."

No where does it say that a batter-runner, who has become such due to a base on balls award, may not overrun first base. This rule does cover the responsibilities of a batter-runner who has completed her turn at bat, while the pitcher has the ball in the 16 foot circle, including a base on balls or a dropped third strike.

Therefore, this is one myth I would omit from the list.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1