![]() |
|
|
|||
Saw this tonight and made me look in the book (NFHS), where
I found no rule for it, but found a citing in the case book. Most associations cover it up front and in the rule book.(ASA4.1.1a.) If a player is listed under one number but actually wearing another, correct it and continue. I honestly would have done that anyway, but I looked, because I knew I had never seen it covered in the rule book. NFHS has no such written rule per say in the Rule Book , only the Case Book. (Most of these guys never get the Case Book) (I know, their bad) Case book 3.1.3 Says that a player has technically violated the rule that requires that player's name, shirt number, and position be on the lineup card, but that there is no penalty since the BOOO rule requires only that the name be in the proper order. Second batter of the 4th inning (#11)doubles and drives in a runner. The defensive coach calls times and appeals to the PU that the batter standing on 2nd is BOO. Blue checks his lineup card and sees that number 3 is listed as following number 2, the first batter of the inning. He and his partner call the batter (runner now on 2nd) out. Allow the run, and place number 6 (who follows number 3(11)) at bat. Hmmmm. However, the team that took the out, won the game, 17-6. [Edited by whiskers_ump on Feb 26th, 2005 at 09:19 PM]
__________________
glen _______________________________ "Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover." --Mark Twain. |
|
|||
Quote:
I hate the rules where we penalize the player for a coach's error. (i.e.) Illegal player in the game. The player did not just go into the game. Coach sent her.
__________________
glen _______________________________ "Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover." --Mark Twain. |
|
|||
Quote:
[Edited by bethsdad on Feb 27th, 2005 at 11:39 AM] |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
"Be kind whenever possible. It is always possible." – Dalai Lama The center of attention as the lead & trail. – me Games officiated: 525 Basketball · 76 Softball · 16 Baseball |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|