The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 16, 2005, 09:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
Question

Bases loaded, no outs, batter hit a pop up that either the F6 or F5 can catch with ordinary effort, the umpire rules infield fly, the ball is caught by F5. The third base coach informs the umpire that F5 is using an illegal glove/mitt.

My question is does the IFR take precedence over the illegal glove?

Furthermore, when will ASA remove this rule!?!?!?! That was really more of a rhetorical question. I don't understand the need to restrict the catcher/first baseman to the use of a mitt. Is there an advantage gained? Anyone know why this is a restriction?

Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1