The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 17, 2005, 12:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally posted by BHBlue
ASA 8.5.B.3 - "If the obstructed runner is put out after passing the base which would have been reached had there not been obstruction or ran beyond the two bases the obstruction occurred, the obstructed runner will be called out. The ball remains live."

I feel the word "or" validates my earlier post. Once she touches 2nd, she is no longer between the bases. When she leaves for 3rd, she is between the bases a second and, in my opinion, separate time and if I have not protected her to 3rd, she can be called out.
You are incorrect. Read the POE on Obstruction. It makes it very clear. #35 in the 2004 book. The runner may be called out between the bases where the obs occurred only if there was an intervening play on another runner, or the play was being made on another violation (e.g. missed base) or for interference by the obstructed runner or for a valid appeal. The runner may not be put out by ordinary defensive action. Read especially the paragraph in POE 35 dealing with obstruction during a rundown play.

[Edited by Dakota on Feb 17th, 2005 at 01:55 AM]
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1