The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 08, 2005, 12:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 41
Normally I would say out in both instances. However, Rule 8 section B exception 1 states that "An obstructed runner may not be called out between the two bases where obstructed" the only exceptions are if there is a subsequent play on another runner, act of interference or passing another runner.

Since the obstruction occurred after the original throw to first the runner would still protected between second and third since a subsequent play never ocurred. (in the first example the first throw after the initial throw is to third to retire the runner and in the second example it went back to the pitcher) As far as I can find, the lookback rule does not supercede the obstruction call. Therefore, in both A & B, as soon as the runner was either tagged or would have been called out for lookback violation, time would be called and place the runner back on second base.

During my discussion in OKC, I stated that since R1 obtained second the obstruction was dropped and she would be called out in both instances; however, the rule reads that a unner may not be called out between the two bases where obstructed.

Am I missing something here?
__________________
heyblue
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1