The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 20, 2001, 04:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 476
Send a message via ICQ to SamNVa Send a message via AIM to SamNVa Send a message via Yahoo to SamNVa
The ASA rule reads:

8-1-E The batter becomes a batter runner when... a fair batted ball strikes the person, equipment, or clothing of an umpire ...

EFFECT:
  1. if after touching a fielder (including the pitcher), the ball is in play

  2. if after passing a fielder and no other infielder had the chance to make an out, the ball is in play.

  3. if before passing a fielder without being touched, the ball is dead. If the ball hits a runner who is off base before it passes a fielder (other than the pitcher) or if it has passed a fielder and another fielder has the possibility to make an out, the runner is out and the batter is awarded 1st.

  4. if a fair batted ball hits an umpire before passing a fielder (excluding the pitcher) the ball is dead and the BR is awarded 1st.


The FED rule reads:

5.1.1 Ball becomes dead immediately when:

    -f a fair ball...

    1. touches a runner or umpire before touching any fielder and before passing any fielder other than the pitcher (Exception 8-4-2.n which deals with the runner in the case of a 2nd fielder having a play);

    2. touches a runner after passing through or by a fielder and another fielder could have made a play on the ball (same as 8-4-2.n IMO but referenced here any way??)

    3. touches a spectator,

    4. goes over, through, or wedges in the fence.


The "OBR" leagues rule reads

6.08 The batter becomes a runner and is entitled to 1st base ... when -

    (d) a fair ball touches an umpire or a runner before touching a fielder.
      If a fair ball touches an umpire after having passed a fielder other than the pitcher or having touched a fielder including the pitcher, the ball is in play. (No mention of the 2nd fielder here.




So it appears that in FED and OBR, a fair ball which hits an umpire after passing a fielder (other than the pitcher) is still in play whether a 2nd fielder had a play on the ball or not, but the ASA rule seems to indicate (by implication in 8.1.E-2) that the ball would be dead if a 2nd fielder had a chance to make an out although 8.1.E-3 and 4 could be construed to indicate otherwise.

So do you folks see this as a real rule difference or possibly just incomplete or poor wording in the ASA book or the FED book or the "OBR" books?

Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1