The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   ASA Question #44 (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/18212-asa-question-44-a.html)

greymule Fri Feb 04, 2005 04:59pm

<b>From the ASA test:</b>

44. Which of the following is a force out:

A) Runner retreats to a base after a caught fly ball and the thrown ball beats the runner to the bag.

B) The batter-runner and a runner are both standing on 1B and the fielder tags the batter-runner.

C) The fielder tags 1B with their glove while holding the ball in the other hand before the batter-runner reaches 1B.

D) None of the above.

<b>Well, what's the answer?</b>

[Edited by greymule on Feb 4th, 2005 at 05:58 PM]

Striker991 Fri Feb 04, 2005 07:14pm

My answer
 
A is an appeal play.

B. Nobody is out...yet.

C. is the answer.

Well?

greymule Fri Feb 04, 2005 07:53pm

ASA also gives C as the answer.

I thought it might be a trick question. See definition of "force play."

IRISHMAFIA Fri Feb 04, 2005 11:13pm

Throw out the tests, they are invalid.

New tests will be provided.

Tex Sat Feb 05, 2005 09:06am

C is the answer.

greymule Sat Feb 05, 2005 05:30pm

<b>Throw out the tests, they are invalid.</b>

There do appear to be problems. Four questions are identical or almost identical to four others (25/52, 2/53, 26/66, 38/100).

scottk_61 Sat Feb 05, 2005 06:36pm

Like Mike said, throw out the test.
Oklahoma City said the last 50 questions of the test are definately messed up.

oppool Sat Feb 05, 2005 07:17pm

D is the correct answer
 
Hadnt taken the test yet and dont know what the correct answer by the key is BUT the correct answer by the defination is D. Only a runner that is forced to run because the batter becomes a batter-runner is considered a FORCE by rule.


JMO

Don

IRISHMAFIA Mon Feb 07, 2005 08:03am

Re: D is the correct answer
 
Quote:

Originally posted by oppool
Hadnt taken the test yet and dont know what the correct answer by the key is BUT the correct answer by the defination is D. Only a runner that is forced to run because the batter becomes a batter-runner is considered a FORCE by rule.


JMO

Don

Don,

C is the correct answer. This isn't a NFHS test. Don't think in highly specific terms. If a runner or BR may be put out while in route to a base by tagging the base instead of the runner, consider it a force out. After all, like a "forced" runner, the BR is forced to advance to 1B if they wish to be safe. (Exception: Where players are not required to advance on a HR or four-base aware).


mcrowder Mon Feb 07, 2005 09:36am

I disagree. Especially considering in how many places the tests try to trick you with wordsmithing. As many have stated (you, yourself, included, Mike) - a play at first on the BR is NOT a force - it's just an out.

In C - the BR is definitely OUT ... but also definitely not a FORCE out.

Dakota Mon Feb 07, 2005 09:44am

Speaking ASA, this is not a trick question hinging on the definition of Force Out. ASA is not OBR.

ASA 8-7-G
Quote:

...If the runner put out is the batter-runner at first base, or any other runner forced to advance because the batter became a batter-runner, this is a force out.

mcrowder Mon Feb 07, 2005 11:13am

I stand corrected. Is it my fuzzy memory misquoting Mike (god of ASA) as calling a play on the BR at first NOT a force out?

Must be.

IRISHMAFIA Mon Feb 07, 2005 01:56pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mcrowder
I stand corrected. Is it my fuzzy memory misquoting Mike (god of ASA) as calling a play on the BR at first NOT a force out?

Must be.

I disagree. I don't believe ASA even comes close to playing the word games NFHS has in the past.

Let me say this. The past weekend at the UIC clinic, more than once the term "force" was used by a member of the NUS for putting out the BR at 1B.

You must think of it as a generic term. We all know what it is and should handle it as such. Y'all make things difficult on yourself.


Dakota Mon Feb 07, 2005 03:22pm

Quote:

Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
Y'all make things difficult on yourself.
Even those who insist on making it difficult on themselves - I NEVER do that! ;) - can find it in black and white in rule 8-7-G (as posted above).

Skahtboi Mon Feb 07, 2005 03:58pm

Quote:

Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
Throw out the tests, they are invalid.

New tests will be provided.

Any idea on when the new test will be provided?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1