The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 14, 2001, 04:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
Don,
I was kinda hoping to see Mike's response to this one. I do not see this covered in ASA's Rule 5 (dealing with The Game), in Rule 11 (dealing with Scorkeeping), or in POE 31. It is not dealt with by Rule 8, Section 6, Article B with anything specific, but that article reads:
"3. When a runner, ...... will always be awarded the base r bases which would have been reached, in the umpire's judgement, had there been no obstruction. ..." Using this wording, and knowing what NFHS sez, I would look at where exactly this runner was at the time of the third out. If more than halfway from 3B to home, I am pretty sure that I would award this obstructed runner home and instruct the scorer to count that run.
As to the obstruction "going off" once the runner passes the next base, not really. The obstructed runner is protected between the bases where the obstruction occurred, but watch the closeness of the play. POE 31, partway through, sez "If the obstructed runner is put out prior to reaching the base he would have reached had there not been obstruction..." So if R1 is obstructed between 1B & 2B and is thrown out on a very close play at 3B, you should have a dead ball and an award of 3B to R1.
__________________
Steve M
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1