The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 09, 2001, 10:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 549
Cool

R1 on 3rd, R2 on first with 2 outs and B6 hits a grounder up the middle R1 scores F8 throws to F5 to tag R2 at third B6 walks into 2nd. Before the defense team leaves the field there coach appeal B6 for batting out of order which he did.
What's the call did the run score??
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 09, 2001, 10:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
BOO

Nope, no run on this. Can't advance or score when Batting out of order is discovered. ASA covers this in Rule 7, Section 2, Article C-something. The one who should have batted is declared out and start next inning with the batter who follows the batter who was declared out.

On another note about BOO, in ASA you can get three outs when 2 pitches have been thrown. That would make for a fast half-inning.
__________________
Steve M
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 10, 2001, 01:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 549
Question 3 on 2

Hey Steve

Explain to me please how a pitch can get 3 outs on 2 pitches in a BOO situation ASA.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 10, 2001, 10:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
Here's how in ASA, but not NFHS, we can have a half-inning with 2 pitches and 3 outs. B1 singles on 1st pitch, B3 hits into a double play on 1st pitch. Defense then appeals that B3 was out of order and B2 should have batted. In ASA, any outs made on BOO stand and the batter who should have batted is also out. 3 outs, 2 pitches.
__________________
Steve M
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 10, 2001, 12:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 549
Question ASA call

I guess this could also happen if the 1st batter to start off an inning hits grounder to 1st in an out. Then appeal by the defense for BOO which of correct the correct batter would also be out then B3 hit a pop out on pitcher 2nd pitch of the inning...Pitcher best friends.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 10, 2001, 12:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
Yup, that would do it, too.
__________________
Steve M
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 11, 2001, 03:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 549
Wink 3 on 1

Hey Steve just thought of this one 3 outs on 1 pitch I believe you would call this one umpires best friend

Top of the 5th team A send 1st batter in line up to bat he hits grounder to F3 for the easy out then the defense team appeals BOO the proper batter in a fast pitch game should of been B8 and they are playing under the short hand rule in this game so B8 and B9 would also be out all on one pitch what a great inning huh??
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 11, 2001, 03:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
ROFLMAO
If I ever see this one, I'll buy you one of those cold afult beverages.
__________________
Steve M
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1